The Project
Shree Jharkot Traditional Medical Center and School
- where a little is a lot

Since 2007 the Musisches Gymnasium has played a significant role in supporting a small free boarding school for children of families in particular need in Jharkot, a village in the Himalaya at 3550m above sea level.
The >> report from our art teachers Christina Klaffinger and Wolfgang Pichlmüller, who worked there for three months in the late autumn of 2008, makes both the extreme living conditions of the people and the lively atmosphere of the school palpable.

 

News

Extraordinary ordinary days –

Enjoy reading our October 2018 newsletter!

Nepal is one of the poorest countries in the world; our former colleague Dr. Karin Inmann, co-founder of the Austrian NGO Ecohimal, spent many years in this country as an aid worker. One of the projects in the development of which she was significantly involved was a small school on the land of the Buddhist cloister in Jharkot, connected with the ordination of a doctor of traditional Tibetan medicine.
When Ecohimal ended their financial support of the project in 2006, it looked like the end of the school and the free traditional medicinal care for the residents of the surrounding villages. Karin Inmann turned to the students of the Musisches Gymnasium for help.

Since then together with our partners we have managed to raise the funds for the continued existence of the school through various campaigns.
With the donations made we can pay for three round-the-clock members of teaching staff, who don't just teach, but also take on the roles of organisers, nurturers and parents. Food for the children – aside from what their parents can provide in terms of grain and vegetables from their fields – is also financed, as are healthcare costs, clothes, shoes, school items and toiletries. The modest wage for the cook and the Tibetan doctor has to be raised, there are electricity bills, wood and gas are needed for cooking ...
In order that we can continue giving these children a better start in life, we need your help!


Contact

Christina Klaffinger, Wolfgang Pichlmüller



Donation account

Schule macht Schule
Volksbank Salzburg

IBAN: AT09 4501 0000 0811 1486
BIC: VBOEATWW


Thank you to...

biogena

... BIOGENA NATURPRODUKTE GmbH & Co KG in Salzburg, who have been a huge support to us since 2014, for example with sanitation or other important schemes >>

... find out more about our wonderful supporters >>



International cooperation

The project's supporting team has grown since the end of 2011 – thank God, because the remit has grown too.

  • Schule macht Schule and the German association Jharkotprojekt e.V. continue to provide for the school and boarding school as well as the primary care for the children.
  • The Polish association Schools Faraway is responsible for the further training of a number of the children who leave the Jharkot school.
  • The architect Beatrix Kovacs is planning a new school building >>, which will not only offer room for more children, but will also be exemplary in its use of passive solar energy and regional materials and building methods.

Verein Schule macht Schule

Since November 2012 Musisches Gymnasium's Nepal project has been run as a distinct society >>

gruppenbild
 
Schule macht Schule - Nepalprojekt des Musischen Gymnasiums facebook Imprint & Contact
Seitenanfang Back to top

Das Projekt
Shree Jharkot Traditional Medical Center and School - wo wenig viel ist

Seit 2007 unterstützt das Musische Gymnasium maßgeblich eine kleine kostenlose Internatsschule für Kinder besonders bedürftiger Familien in Jharkot, einem 3550m hoch gelegenen Dorf im Himalaya.
Der >> Bericht unserer BE-Lehrer Christina Klaffinger und Wolfgang Pichlmüller, die erstmals im Spätherbst 2008 drei Monate dort arbeiteten, macht die extremen Lebensumstände der Menschen ebenso wie die lebendige Atmosphäre der Schule spürbar.
 

Aktuell

SEPTEMBER Newsletter:
Solaranlage! Umbau! Neue Kinder!
...und andere Weichenstellungen

Nepal ist eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt; unsere ehemalige Kollegin Dr. Karin Inmann, Mitbegründerin der österreichischen NGO Ecohimal, verbrachte mehrere Jahre als Entwicklungshelferin in diesem Land. Eines der Projekte, an deren Entstehung sie maßgeblich beteiligt war, war eine kleine Schule auf dem Gelände des buddhistischen Klosters von Jharkot, verbunden mit der Ordination eines Arztes für Traditionelle Tibetische Medizin.
Als Ecohimal im Jahr 2006 die finanzielle Unterstützung des Projektes beendete, schien dies das Aus für die Schule und die ebenfalls kostenlose traditionell-medizinische Betreuung für die Bewohner der umliegenden Dörfer zu sein. Karin Inmann wandte sich an die SchülerInnen des Musischen Gymnasiums um Hilfe.

Durch verschiedene Aktionen gelang es uns seither gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern das Fortbestehen der Schule zu sichern.
Mit dem Spendengeld werden drei Rund-um-die-Uhr-Lehrkräfte bezahlt, die nicht nur unterrichten, sondern auch die Organisatoren-, Erzieher- und Elternrolle innehaben. Die Ernährung der Kinder - bis auf das, was deren Eltern an Getreide und Gemüse von ihren Feldern zur Verfügung stellen können - wird davon ebenso bestritten wie Gesundheitskosten, Kleidung, Schuhe, Schulsachen und Hygieneartikel. Die bescheidenen Gehälter für den Koch und den Tibetischen Arzt müssen aufgebracht werden, es fallen Stromkosten an, Gas zum Kochen wird benötigt...
Damit wir diesen Kindern weiterhin einen besseren Start in ihre Zukunft ermöglichen können, brauchen wir dein/Ihr/euer Engagement!


Kontakt
Christina Klaffinger, Wolfgang Pichlmüller


Spendenkonto
Schule macht Schule
Volksbank Salzburg

IBAN: AT09 4501 0000 0811 1486
BIC: VBOEATWW



Internationale Zusammenarbeit

Seit 2011 hat sich das Unterstützerteam für das Projekt erweitert – Gott sei Dank, denn auch die Aufgaben sind gewachsen...

  • Schule macht Schule, immer wieder unterstützt vom Förderverein Jharkotprojekt e.V. >> in Deutschland, kommt für die Versorgung der Kinder, den Schul- und Internatsbetrieb auf - und beim Großteil der Kinder auch für die weitere (Aus)bildung
  • Einen Teil jener Kinder, die die Jharkot-Schule verlassen haben, hat der polnische Verein Schools Faraway >> für deren weiteren Ausbildungsweg unter die Fittiche genommen.
  • Auf dem Gelände seines Kinderdorfs Bhakunde ermöglicht uns der deutsche Verein Freundeskreis Nepalhilfe >> die Errichtung einer eigenen Winterschule. Planung: Architekt Christoph Brandstätter aus Salzburg.


Verein Schule macht Schule

Seit November 2012 wird das Nepalprojekt des Musischen Gymnasiums als eigener Verein >>
geführt.

gruppenbild
 
Schule macht Schule - Nepalprojekt des Musischen Gymnasiums facebook Impressum & Kontakt
Seitenanfang Seitenanfang

Google+